So rudely interrupted

As you may already know, I work full time as a receptionist for a well respected canadian fortune-500 company. As you can imagine, I answer the phone hundreds of times a day the same way. This means that when regular clients call in they are familiar with my speech.

Most of my clients are very respectful people no matter what background or work environment they come to me from. However, I found that today people were talking right through me when I am so politely thanking them for calling.

Here is some food for thought because I’m sure you don’t want to be the person I get off the phone from and then say, “Wow! That guy was so rude!” I urge you, when you call businesses and someone has made the effort to put some spring in their voice, please hear them out. Don’t make that the time that you catch up on you own office chit chat – remember you called me!

Leave a comment